Good Friday – Popule meus (Victoria)

Popule meus, quid feci tibi?
Aut in quo contristavi te?
Responde mihi.

Quia eduxi te de terra Aegypti:
Parasti crucem Salvatori tuo.

Hagios o Theos. Sanctus Deus.
Hagios ischyros. Sanctus fortis.

My people, what have I done to you?
Or how have I offended you?
Answer Me.

I led you out of the land of the Egyptians;
You have prepared a cross for your Savior.

O holy God! Holy strong One!

Quia eduxi te per desertum quadraginta annis,
Et manna cibavi te:
Et introduxi in terra satis optimam:
Parasti crucem Salvatori tuo.

Hagios ischyros. Sanctus fortis.

I led you through the desert for forty years,
And fed you with manna,
And brought you into a land exceeding good;
You have prepared a cross for your Savior.

O holy strong One!

Ego quidem plantavi te vineam meam speciossissam,
Et tu facta es mihi nimis amara:
Aceto namque sitim meam potasti,
Et lancea perforasti latus Salvatori tuo.

Hagios athanatos, eleison ymas.
Sanctus immortalis, miserere nobis.

I planted you, My most beautiful vineyard,
And you have become exceeding bitter to Me;
For in my thirst you gave Me vinegar to drink,
And with a spear you pierced the side of your Savior.

O holy and immortal One, have mercy upon us.

Leave a comment