Maundy Thursday – Hoc corpus (Robledo)

Hoc corpus quod pro vobis tradetur:
Hic calix novi testamenti est in meo sanguine, dicit Dominus:
Hoc facite quotiescumque sumitis, in meam commemorationem.

This is My body which is given for you;
This cup is the new testament in My blood, saith the Lord;
Do this as often as you meet together in remembrance of Me.

3 comments on “Maundy Thursday – Hoc corpus (Robledo)

  1. fiddlrts says:

    I can’t think of the last time I saw a reference to Robledo. Gorgeous piece. I’d be curious to know the breakdown of the instruments in this one. Clearly, there are some gambas, but is it all gambas? Or a mix of gamba and other viols? The thought of a live performance by this group…be still my heart. 🙂

    • Hester says:

      Unfortunately I don’t know anything about the group or their viols, and I’d never heard of Robledo before I listened to this. Is he better known among string players?

      • fiddlrts says:

        I wasn’t that familiar with him either, but I think a colleague with experience in Baroque and Renaissance period instruments posted a link of something of his a while back. My practical experience only goes back to the Baroque. My teacher in early high school used to play with the Los Angeles Baroque Orchestra on a period instrument, so I got to play one. The bow technique is quite different, and I am not sure I would ever get used to playing a half step flat. The viols and gambas go back even further, and while I have seen some beautiful instruments up close, I have never had a chance to play one. I did dig up a fun link, though, for you. A viol ensemble plus organ, playing William Lawes. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MAhRtQP3x4

Leave a comment